This is a newly formatted class. The Training (Part 1) starts at 08:30 and the Qualification (Part 2) starts at 11:30. In order to obtain an initial CCW, you must attend both Part 1 & Part 2. For a Renewal, you only need to attend Part 2.
This Eight hour course covers Part 1 & Part 2 and is valid for Nevada, Placer, Sutter and Yuba Counties and is for an Initial Concealed Carry Permit. (Placer County should consult new permits first)
Failure to cancel/withdraw from class at least 72 hours in advance, will result in forfeiture of your deposit. If full payment was paid initially, the deposit amount ($25) would be forfeited. Exceptions granted due to work or illness.
Please note, There is a minimum class size, either four (4) initial students or two (2) initial and three (3) renewal students. Failure to meet minimum class size could result in the class being cancelled. In the event of class being cancelled due to class size, complete refund will be issued.
This class covers the training and range qualifications for a CCW Application for Nevada, Placer, Sutter and Yuba Counties. Completing the class DOES NOT automatically qualify you for a CCW. You will still need to apply at the local Sheriff’s Office. A CCW from any of these counties is valid for the entire state of California.\n\nThe course will cover how to register a handgun within California, firearm safety, permissible use of firearms, various CA Penal Codes, standard application for a Concealed Carry Permit, and unique Beale AFB requirements. A 20 question quiz, concerning the previous topics is used as an evaluation tool of understanding the course material, and a course of fire is used to evaluate handgun marksmanship. A practice course of fire may be shot if desired. You MUST qualify on each pistol you wish to have on your permit. You may qualify on up to three pistols. Completion of a Concealed Carry Class does NOT allow you to carry a concealed weapon; you must complete an application with your local Sheriff.\n\nLunch will be provided during the break between classroom training and the range qualification portions. Lunch includes a steak sandwich, baked beans, potato salad, soft drink or bottled water. If you have any special dietary considerations let us know before the day of the event and we'll try to work with you. The course of fire is determined by the Sheriff, for Yuba & Sutter Counties, it is a 25 round course. For Nevada & Placer counties, it is a 30 round course.
A CCW is not VALID on Beale AFB. All pistols transported onto Beale AFB, must be transported unloaded and in a locked container. Pistols may NOT be transported on a motorcycle, IAW Beale AFB guidance.
What do I need?
- Pistol (You may qualify on up to three pistols, a holster is not required).
- Please wear a belt to class.
- For Sutter & Yuba Counties: 50 rnds per pistol, (gives you the ablitiy to shoot course of fire 2 times, if needed).
- For Nevada & Placer Counties: 60 rnds per pistol, (gives you the ablitiy to shoot course of fire 2 times, if needed).
- Eye & Ear Protection.
- Be a Resident of Nevada, Placer, Sutter, or Yuba County
- No arrests within past five years
- Not forbidden by US or California law to possess a firearm.
Firearm(s) MUST be registered in California to the applicant (Husband & Wife may share the same pistol for most counties).
Placer County Please book your appointment with the Sheriff's Office, and 30 days prior to the appointment, enroll in a CCW class. Additionally for Placer County Only -No pistols less than 25 caliber, no derringers or "hideaway guns" or guns registered as Single Shot. See approved weapons for details.
Nevada County, requires the pistol caliber to be at least 32 caliber and no larger than 45 caliber.
****Please Note: Yahoo email has a tendency to block my badmoonshooting emails, please check your spam filters. ****
Once you enroll, a "weapon questionare" will be sent out to you, and then a reminder email is sent out the Wendesday before class with more information