This is a newly formatted class, due to California SB2, effective 1 Jan 2024. The Initial CCW class is 16 hours in length (two days), on day one class starts at 08:00 and runs for at least 8 hours, and on day two, class starts at 08:00 and runs for another full 8 hours. We will break for lunch on both days and lunch is NOT included as part of the course. Sandwiches (steak, tri-tip, hamburgers and Brats should be available for purchase at the Rod and Gun). Dining options on weekends are limited on Beale AFB, bringing a lunch might be the best option.
This class is valid for Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba Counties. (Sacramento, Yolo and Placer counties, should complete phase one of the application process prior to taking this class. See your county Sheriff’s Website for further details). Please complete your profile on your Sheriff’s Permitium website, prior to taking this class.
***Withdrawal/refund from class will result in a 4% fee. ***
Failure to cancel/withdraw from class at least 72 hours in advance, will result in forfeiture of your deposit. If full payment was paid, the deposit amount ($50) will be forfeited. Exceptions granted due to work or illness; however, the cancellation will still be subjected to a 4% cancellation fee.
Please note, there is a minimum class size of four students. Failure to meet minimum class size could result in the class being cancelled. In the event of class being cancelled due to class size, complete refunds will be issued. No withdrawal fee will be assessed. On day two, renewal students should be joining the class, and would be counted towards the minimum class size.
This class covers the training and range qualifications for a CCW Application for Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba Counties. Completing the class DOES NOT automatically qualify you for a CCW. You will still need to apply at the local Sheriff’s Office. A CCW from any of these counties is valid for the entire state of California.
The 16 hours of training covers the state mandated training on firearm safety, firearm handling, shooting technique, safe storage, legal methods to transport firearms, securing firearms in vehicles, laws governing where permitholders may carry firearms, laws regarding the permissible use of a firearm, laws regarding the permissible use of lethal force in self-defense, mental health and mental health resources. A 50-question written exam is administered at the completion of the course to demonstrate your understanding of the material. A course of fire (designed by your Sheriff) is used to evaluate safe handling of, and shooting proficiency with each firearm you are wanting on your permit. **Failure to obtain a “passing score” on either the written exam or the shooting qualification will result in a failure to obtain a training certificate. ** If a student fails on the first time of either the exam or weapon qualification, remediation is available and the student may retest one time during the class.
A follow-on date to retake the test or reshoot is available after two attempts and may be arranged between the student and the instructor. The date is to be within two weeks of the class. The price for this remediation class for the exam or weapon qualification is not included in the price of the class, and is set at $50 for the exam, and $60 for the weapon qualification. Range fees are included in the reshoot remediation. Failure to satisfactory pass on the follow-on date will result in non-issuance of a training certificate.
Completion of the Concealed Carry Class does NOT allow you to carry a concealed weapon; you must complete an application with your local Sheriff. A CCW is not VALID on Beale AFB. All pistols transported onto Beale AFB, must be transported unloaded and in a locked container, ammunition cannot be stored with the pistol. Pistols may NOT be transported on a motorcycle, IAW Beale AFB guidance.
Yuba & Sutter Counties, the course of fire is 25 rounds. For Nevada, Yolo and Placer counties, the course of fire is 30 rounds. And for Sacramento, the course of fire is 100 rounds. See your local sheriff’s website for the mandated course of fire. Please bring enough ammo to shoot the course of fire twice if needed, for EACH handgun.
Range fees are NOT included in the price for the Initial CCW course.
What do I need?
Pistol (You may qualify on up to a Maximum of three pistols, a holster is not required).
The firearm MUST be registered in California to the prospective CCW holder.
Please wear a belt to class.
Eye & Ear Protection.
Enough ammo for EACH pistol to fire the qualification course twice if needed
Clothing suitable for the range.
Clothing suitable for the weather.
Lunches for both day one and day two is advisable
Snacks if needed
Non-alcoholic drinks and chips are available for purchase at the Rod & Gun, but you are welcome to bring your own.
Prerequisites: Be a Resident of Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo or Yuba County (some counties may require you to have either a California Driver’s license or California ID Card. See your Sheriff’s website for further details).
No arrests within past five years
Not forbidden by US or California law to possess a firearm.
Firearm(s) MUST be registered in California to the applicant.
Placer County Please book your appointment with the Sheriff's Office, and 30 days prior to the appointment, enroll in a CCW class. Additionally for Placer County Only -No pistols less than 25 caliber, no derringers or "hideaway guns" or guns registered as Single Shot. See website for more details.
Nevada County, requires the pistol caliber to be at least 32 caliber and no larger than 45 caliber.